This gastronomic journey began in 1953 in the picturesque amphitheatrical village of Glossa, in Skopelos.
That year, grandmother Aglaia Stamataki and her son Nikos (grandfather of the present owner) set up a tavern that they named “Gallia” (France), to appeal to the few French tourists who visited the island at that time.
In 1985, the little taverna changed its name and was rebaptized “Agnanti” (meaning “view”), to reflect its beautiful aspect over the Aegean.
It was around that time that Agnanti passed into the hands of the children of grandfather Nikos: Stamatis and Mahoula Stamatakis.
With their wonderful, well-prepared recipes, Agnanti immediately made an impression and gained a great reputation on the island.